Learned to Surf at Surfer’s Paradise

Happy Easter everyone! 

If you know me at all, you’ll know I’m not remotely sporty. That being said however, I do love a good fitness challenge. So it was with that mindset that I talked myself into doing a surf lesson this morning! It will be an adventure I told myself.

Well, I’ll say it straight out, I don’t think I’ll be winning any medals any time soon, but what a laugh it was. I loved it. So much fun, just being out in the warm water playing around with waves, trying to stand up on a six foot piece of foam, lol. Definitely life adventure criteria.

I almost didn’t get to go, as I had checked in yesterday about it, and the girl said that Sundays were usually slow, so it wouldn’t be a problem for me to decide today. However, when I got there for 9, it was apparently fully booked! She told me to come back in a half hour and see if they had any last minute openings. I took my half hour to confidently go get some brekkie on my own, which was a flat white (in the first real mug I’ve seen since I’ve been here, bless their cotton socks after last night), and a ham, cheese and tomato omlette, my fave 🙂 

Luckily, when I called back at 9:30, she apologized for actually looking at the wrong day, and they had lots of openings! Yay! It reminded me again that I shouldn’t mess with a good mind, and should have committed yesterday. I really gotta get those tickets for Shediac in August. 

Here are some pictures of my hilarious attempts at surfing:

     
  
By the end, I was able to stand up a couple times, but not for very long. It’s hard to focus on so many steps!

This is my interpretation of how to surf:

 1) Jump onto the board. 

2) Be centred and feel your toes at the end. 

3) Cobra to plank. 

4) Step back foot in. 

5) Step front foot in. 

6) Stand up. 

7) Look cool. 

After this, I met up with Chelsea for lunch, and I had had so much fun that we thought we’d go back together! 

So this resulted in a second surfing lesson, by the end of which I can now reliably stand up! Still working on Step 7. And also the actual carrying of the board. Those things are huge! And heavy. 

I’m so glad I decided to take the chance and try something new, it definitely paid off. I can already feel my arms and my abs, I’m afraid I won’t be able to move tomorrow! 

I hope you all enjoyed your Easter Sunday, and that the Easter bunny was good to you. 

Sarah 

One thought on “Learned to Surf at Surfer’s Paradise

Leave a Reply

