Last Night In Oz

Good morning everyone!

So I know this is a little delayed, but I had such a lovely night last night I thought it deserved its own post.

As you know, we were lucky enough to get tickets to see Swan Lake at the Sydney Opera House for last night. It was 100% just as incredible as you are undoubtedly imagining.

We got all dressed up, and I got to wear one of the dresses I had bought in Melbourne! I really love it.

  
We started our night at the Opera Bar, a little place for nibbles and drinks which is right on the waterfront and next to the Opera House.

  
Here’s s couple snaps Chelsea took of me as we made our way there:

   
 
The Opera House is just as pretty in the night as it is in the day! It practically glows:

  
We had standing tickets, which meant we got to stand near the a balcony towards the back, but not totally at the back.

  
It was a perfect view! They had a real orchestra playing for them, and we could see them in addition to all the dancers, which was really fascinating to watch. 

The ballet itself was incredible!! The costumes were amazing, and all of the dancers were so talented. The crowd cheered as the black swan did many, many perfectly executed pirouettes in Act III. It made me miss ballet so much. 

My other favourite part was all the swan maidens in Act II. They were so graceful, and swift on their toes!

They did the traditional ending, which is the kind of sad one, where the Prince and Odette are together in death. 

Afterwards we went to a restaurant up the road called Meat and Wine Co, which was Australian style. We shared bruschetta to start:

  
Then we had ordered skewers. I was picturing the wooden kind, on a bed of salad. This is what my salmon skewers came out like:

  
Literally hanging chunks of grilled Tassie salmon! It was delicious.

For dessert I had house made hazelnut ice cream, and it was so creamy and amazing. The perfect finish to a wonderful last day in Oz!

  
I wish I could click my heels now and be home, but unfortunately I’ve got a 15 hour flight just to get back to Vancouver.

I’ll talk to you when I’m there.

Much love,

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Last Night In Oz

  1. Sounds like a night you will remember ,so glad it was that incredible & the weather looks great šŸ™‚
    You look Beautiful in your lovely dress ,with your radiant smile & tan lines to boot.
    I was wondering how good the Aussie ice cream is ,glad it’s that delicious!
    safe travels ,click away šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

