Happy Summer!!!

Hello my long lost friends!

So, remember how I said in my last Aussie-post, that I would love to see Pharm to Table grow into a bit of a foodie blog? Well, as of this week, I have finally finished what will hopefully be my last licensing exam, and I’m starting to settle into this being adult thing. I have even found a little time to remember why food is such a passion of mine.

That’s kind of why I want to share it with you 🙂

So, let’s take this adventure together, and see where we can grow!

Last Saturday, I got to my first Farmer’s Market in my new home. 


I ended up getting some fresh scallops, homemade guacamole, rhubarb, granola and extra fresh lettuce.

Over the course of the week, I enjoyed my guac and granola (separately, lol) for snacks, and made several yummy salads with my lettuce. I used my rhubarb in some muffins which I made for my road trip Wednesday. Lastly, my scallops. My beautiful scallops. I ended up freezing them, as up until Wednesday was pretty crazy. However, tonight, I broke them out and created something delicious!

Simple Scallop Linguine!


This recipe is something I came up with off the top of my head as I went, so it’s totally flexible based on what you have in your fridge. 

First of all, I prepared a handful of cherry tomatoes (cut in half), baby carrots (cut in matchsticks) and orange bell peppers (cut in small strips).

Next, I started out with about a tablespoon of olive oil in my cast iron skillet, then I seared my scallops for about 2 minutes on each side. I seasoned them with a teensie bit of salt, and some pepper. At the same time, I began to boil the water for my pasta. I used linguine, as per package directions.

Once my scallops were ready, I set them aside to rest and threw my veggies into my skillet. I seasoned these with pepper and cayenne pepper, and also added a spring of fresh thyme. 

As the veggies became tender (in about five minutes), I added two ladles of diced canned tomatoes. I added a dried chili pepper and more cayenne pepper and black pepper at that time, because I wanted a bit of spice! I just simmered this on medium low until it began to thicken, and my pasta was ready. I added my pasta into my skillet, then stirred and placed my scallops on top. I let this cook for about two extra minutes, just so the pasta could absorb some flavours.

Then I served it in a giant bowl, and enjoyed it throughly while watching Modern Family 🙂 The scallops were wonderfully tender, and the sauce was nicely balanced. A great start to what I feel is going to be a great weekend! 

I hope this inspires you to attempt your own simple scallop linguine soon! Please share your versions with me in the comments, including pictures 🙂
Sarah

One thought on “Happy Summer!!!

Leave a Reply

