Salmon Two Ways

This past weekend I was lucky enough to acquire some fresh (farmed) salmon at a Farmer’s Market. Now, I used to be scared of trying anything new with my salmon, because it was such a precious commodity I didn’t want to ruin it. However, I was feeling creative this week, and the summer weather was encouraging me to try some new light flavours.

As usual, I was focused on keeping it simple with real ingredients!

The first way was an Orange Thyme Baked Salmon.


This does not get any simpler, so I hope you’re not looking for something with 20 ingredients!

Okay. This is what I did to it. I put it in a baking dish, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and then topped it with some fresh slices of orange and sprigs of thyme! I cozied it up in tinfoil, and then baked it on 375 F for about 20 mins. It was  a thicker piece, so your might not take as long if it’s a not as thick.

That’s actually it. And it was amazeballs!

On the side, I roasted an array of vegetables (local baby beets, corn, asparagus, bell peppers and tomatoes) by cutting them into chunks, tossing them in olive oil and pepper, and baking them simultaneously with the salmon. I made lots of roasted veggies, so that I intentionally could have leftovers for salmon #2, and a yummy lunch salad which I’ll be showing you in a future post!

The second way was Pesto Salmon Pasta!


This was also super simple. I started by cooking the desired amount of rotini pasta (penne would have also been fab), and once it was cooked and drained I placed it back in the pot. Next I added my leftover roasted veggies, and flaked up my leftover salmon before also adding that to the pot. I stirred in my pesto (I like about two heaping tablespoons per serving of pasta), and sprinkled it with some fresh Parmesan cheese! Pasta is not complete without fresh parm. Yum.

Side note about pesto: I used some fresh, locally made pesto, however that’s usually pretty hard to find. When you can’t get your hands on it, try the Jamie Oliver Traditional Pesto from Sobeys. It’s awesome!

I just really wanted to show you today that salmon doesn’t have to be scary, or boring. I understand that it’s something you probably also don’t buy a lot, so you don’t want to screw it up. But, that doesn’t mean you can’t experiment! Adding light simple flavours keeps salmon fun. And that’s what cooking should be 🙂

Share your favourite salmon culinary experiments in the comments below!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Salmon Two Ways

Leave a Reply

