Blackberry Apple Pocket Cake

Hi all!

I hope your summer has been relaxing 🙂 Mine, has suddenly become nothing of the sort, as I balance my research proposal with my first clinical rotation. I started the week before last, and so far it’s been absolutely amazing. Everything I had hoped residency would be!

For the first few days on the floor, I didn’t yet have my new lab coat. When I asked about the order status, I said I needed my snack pockets back. I think she thought I was kidding, but, you guys know I don’t kid about snacks. Snacks don’t fit well in your binder.

I did successfully survive on Nature Valley bars last week, but after picking up some Jersey Mac apples from Gagetown, and lucking into some fresh wild blackberries at the market yesterday, I thought I could whip something up a little more homemade for this week, and still aim for lab coat pocket size!

1.5 c flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1.5 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 c butter, melted

3/4 c brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 c milk

1 tsp vanilla

3 small baking apples, sliced

1 cup blackberries

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients with a whisk.

Image-1

In a small bowl, mix together melted butter, brown sugar, egg, milk and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients into the dry and combine.

Image-1

In a round cake pan, lined with parchment paper, add half the batter. Layer some apple slices into this half, and top with some blackberries.

Image-1

Add the rest of the batter, and top with the apple slices and blackberries.

Image-1

Bake on 350F for 25 mins.

Image-1Image-1

Cut into slices and put into a container!

Enjoy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Blackberry Apple Pocket Cake

  1. Looks delish Sarah. I would have cut the apples into thinner slices though. Just saying! I guess it was nice to have Hilda pamper you for a few days. Take care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

