2017 Check-in over Smoothie Bowls

Hello all, long time no talk!

I know it’s been awhile, you’ve crossed my mind multiple times, but with the madness of residency I’ve been really just trying to tread water. They tell you it’s going to be busy, and Dad keeps reiterating that “If it was easy anyone could do it”, but I don’t think you fully grasp the soul-crushing challenge until you’re in it. I spent the weeks leading up to Christmas loving my community health rotation but practically counting down the hours until I got to go home. Between the stress and frustration of my research project, and wondering when in the name of goodness this “click” moment where I’m suddenly a competent pharmacist that can function independently is going to occur, I just really wanted to be home for a bit with people that I love.

With all that going on, its really been a few months of too many nachos, grilled cheese sandwiches, and weird baked chicken + veggie/fruit in my fridge combos. Not much food inspiration to share, and certainly no baking!
However, it’s 2017 now. It’s a new leaf! A new opportunity to be organized. 

Maybe I’ll be able to get a little bit more creative in the kitchen. Maybe the elusive click is imminent. 

I do know I’ll be taking it one bite-sized day at a time. 

Today, that meant making a delicious smoothie bowl for a leisurely breakfast! I’m calling it a Banana Blueberry Smoothie Bowl. 


I used:

1 overripe banana

1/2 cup frozen Newfoundland blueberries

1 inch chunk of cucumber

2 ice cubes

1/3 cup of milk

1/4 cup raspberries

1 tablespoon slivered almonds

I blended the banana, blueberries, cucumber, milk and ice together, then poured it into a bowl. You want it to be nice and thick so you can eat with a spoon. That might mean more ice and less milk depending on your preferences. Blueberries are so good for you, with all the antioxidants (I’m convinced they make my skin happy), and cucumber is apparently good for post-holiday bloat. Unclear what the evidence on that is, but I do know it was refreshing with the blueberries, so, why not!

I topped mine with the raspberries and almonds to add some extra colour and crunch, and healthy fat (to keep me full longer). I bet swirling in some Greek yogurt would also be good, or topping with flax seeds!

There’s something about eating a smoothie with a spoon that just makes it more of a meal, so that’s why I’m a lover of smoothie bowls šŸ™‚

Now to direct my energy to work on some residency stuff! Happy New Year everyone, I hope 2017 is everything you want it to be ā¤ļø

3 thoughts on “2017 Check-in over Smoothie Bowls

Leave a Reply

